Girl with bookThe educational system in Bangladesh is three-tiered and highly subsidized. The government of Bangladesh operates many schools in the primary, secondary, and higher secondary levels. It also subsidizes parts of the funding for many private schools. In the tertiary education sector, the government also funds more than 15 state universities through the University Grants Commission.

The three main educational systems in Bangladesh, ordered by decreasing student numbers, are:

  • General Education System
  • Madrasah Education System
  • Technical – Vocational Education System

Other systems include a Professional Education System.

Each of these three main systems is divided into five levels:

  • Primary Level (years 1 to 4)
  • Junior Level (years 5 to 8)
  • Secondary Level (years 9 to 10)
  • Higher Secondary Level (years 11 and 12)
  • Tertiary Level

The five years of lower secondary (grades nine through ten) concludes with a secondary school certificate examination. Students who passed this examination proceeded to two years of higher secondary or intermediate training, which culminated in a higher secondary school examination after grade twelve. Higher secondary school was viewed as preparation for college rather than as the conclusion of high school. Tertiary education in Bangladesh takes place at 34 government, 78 private and 3 international universities. Students can choose to further their studies in Chartered Accountancy, engineering, technology, agriculture and medicine at a variety of universities and colleges.

Additional Information